top of page

I interviewed a FIDM (LA) student..

Hey everyone! Today I got the amazing opportunity to interview Whitney Sutherland. She goes to school in LA at one of the biggest fashion schools in America: FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising) and she’s going to give some insight for those wondering not only what it’s like to live in LA but also what it’s like to go to one of the best fashion schools in the world.

  • What’s it like being a student at FIDM?: “FIDM is my home away from home, I spend a lot of time working and studying there because I am the FIDM social media coordinator.” Whitney says her favorite thing about FIDM is watching people grow, and she continued to say good things about the school. “I can’t say enough good things about the school because they’ve kind of given me everything over the past four years. I moved from North Carolina to California in 2014 and FIDM has allowed me to have a complete mind, body, and spirit transformation.”

  • What are you majoring in and why?: “I got my AA degree in merchandising and marketing and graduated from that in 2016. I took a year off to work full time at FIDM and then started back in my business degree for bachelor and science. I chose this major because I knew I was creative but not on the level to make clothing.”

  • Whats one fun fact about you?: “I have been Vegan for 5 years, Since January of 2014. I’m pretty passionate about it and really care about my health. And being vegan, I think, is just the optimal way to live.”

  • Whats life like in LA in general and what’s it like going to a fashion college?: “ Los Angeles is my favorite place, I absolutely love living here. There’s always something to do. It’s picture perfect for me since I’m also a photographer.”

  • Whats it like going to a fashion college?: “I really don’t see much of a difference between a fashion college or a regular college. If anything, students at FIDM have more of an advantage since it’s a smaller community. I feel like the term ‘fashion college’ can be demeaning when you say it like that. It’s so much more than that because students are able to get to know each other on a deeper level here.”

Thank you so much again to Whitney Sutherland for agreeing to do this interview. I hope this helped anyone deciding on going out to LA or going to school there, or even pursuing their career in the fashion or entertainment industry. :)


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page